Forgiveness of debt

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Forgiveness of debt

I read in another part of this forum, that if you have a $3K cc bill and the bill is settled for $2K (you pay this), the $1K that is forgiven by the oc is considered as taxable income by the IRS.

does this apply to the debt that is discharged in a bk? seems that would defeat the purpose of filing?????????????

No, it does not apply to a debt discharged in bankruptcy....
    NOTE: I am not a lawyer...any advice I give is for entertainment purposes only. Legal questions should be directed to competent counsel. I am just a troll. Or a Toad.

Comment

has anyone here ever really received the 1099 for forgiven debt?
      Chapter 7 Pro Se....Discharged Feb. 2006

Comment

Forgiveness of debt is generally taxable as income. However, there are times it is excluded as income, such as:

* If the debt was cancelled in a bankruptcy
        * If the debt was cancelled when you are insolvant, even if not filing bankruptcy
        * Certain circumstances with student loans
        * When the cancelled debt would have been deductible, if paid

If the forgiven debt is not declared as income, the forgiven debt amount must reduce the taxpayer's tax attributes, if there are any. Tax attributes are: net operating loss; general business credit carryovers; minimum tax credit; capital losses; property basis; passive activity loss and credit carryovers; and foreign tax credit.

Form 1099-C is supposed to be issued on forgiven debt (either cancelled outright or the lost amount due to settlement) if the amount is more than $600. I believe the form is only required by government agencies and financial institutions, however can be sent by other creditors voluntarily.

I've had debt cancelled from a company that wasn't related to the government, and wasn't a financial institution, and I never received a 1099-C from them.