top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

BK Eligibility based on income - How do they calculate it?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

BK Eligibility based on income - How do they calculate it?

Hi all!
    I'm considering trying for Chapter 7. As I understand it, the income requirement for eligibility is that you must be below the median income for your household size in your home county. I also understand that this is based off of your past 6 months income.

I've had a weird income situation, and I'm wondering how they calculate this, because how they do it could put me over/under the requirement. The situation is like this: I had a full time job that was just under the median income level. It got cut to half time. I picked up a part time job that still wasn't enough to get back up to full time pay level. for 3 months over the summer, I stopped that job, and took an internship in another state. (I'm a student). this internship paid a lot. More than my old job when it was full time. ..but only for 3 months. AND I used vacation days at my other job, so I was basically pulling 1.5 time pay. ..but only for 3 months. (it's not like I got to use any of that extra money.. I was still paying my mortgage back home and crazy high california rent at the same time)

If they just do an average income based on these 6 months, I probably am still eligible, but if they base it off of any one month, and choose one of my high income months, I'm not. Not to mention, the internship income was at a place whose median income was way higher than back home.

Anyone have insight on how this might play out for me?

There are 2 parts to the means test. The 6 months of median income is the lookback portion. They don't base it off of one particular month in that period.