top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

After filing, my FICO is 640; not terrible. Will I be able to rebuild me credit?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

After filing, my FICO is 640; not terrible. Will I be able to rebuild me credit?

Hola amigos,

I wasn't late on a single credit card when I filed, and my FICO is now 640. Its not a terrible score--still higher than 24% of the population--but, since I filed in July (and was discharged in October), will the BK still prevent me from rebuilding my credit?

I'm new at this, and still trying to navigate the waters. As much as the BK itself was a leaning process, this rebuilding post-process can seem just as challenging!

Ciao,
    Steve

I did the same thing as you and got a CC the day after discharge. I can't remember the card (maybe Orchard?) but a few months later I got a Capital One card and a year after discharge another one.

Good luck

Comment

The quicker you file with no late payments or collections, your score is higher, I waited a while and tried to right the ship, my credit score tanked and I believe it takes up to 6 months to a year before you can even get credit, I got a car loan pre-filing with Ford Credit that's about it.

Comment

a day after the discharge? that's impressive. I don't have balls that big to apply so soon. From reading other comments, it seems like two months is a good window to wait; and then apply for only one card. I don't need credit now, but I know it can take a while to rebuild my credit, so I want to get going!

Comment

Originally posted by sailing2013 View Post
          a day after the discharge? that's impressive. I don't have balls that big to apply so soon. From reading other comments, it seems like two months is a good window to wait; and then apply for only one card. I don't need credit now, but I know it can take a while to rebuild my credit, so I want to get going!