top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Do current student loan disbursements go to schedule I for income?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Do current student loan disbursements go to schedule I for income?

Do current student loan disbursements go to schedule I for income? I am currently a nontraditional part time student preparing to file bankruptcy in the next few weeks. My question is whether Department of Education loan disbursements go onto schedule I for income. I am told that they do not go to the means test calculation and that the means test does not need to match schedule I. If I leave them off of schedule I then schedule j line 20 will show a balance of apx -$700 per month.

I fear that I may end up with a dismissal if I put this down wrong. Also I cannot afford an attourney and do not believe that my constitutional right to file bankruptcy should be infringed upon by the nature of my economic situation. It seems absurd that a person could be too poor to file bankruptcy.

I can't resist "nontraditional part time student" = Slacker

Student loans are not income.

But you need to disclose them, the loan proceeds go on Schedule B as an asset. But here is the problem, if you get an aggressive trustee, they may try to take advantage of you if you file without an attorney.

If you actually have income, you CAN afford an attorney. The problem is, most attorneys in your likely price range aren't prepared to handle any sort of fight.

Comment

The disbursment is already spent and is no longer an asset.

I think that the federal college loan disbursement cannot be an asset as it is already spent.

Also, not putting them to income on I would leave me with a negative (-) $700 per month balance on schedule J. Putting it as income on I would mean that income on I does not match income on the means test.