Can psychological issues be used as a defense during an AP

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can psychological issues be used as a defense during an AP

not quite sure how to phrase that, but hopefully it makes sense.

i quit my job 5 years ago because of a, for lack of a better term , nervous breakdown. i was specifically sick of my job, but the rest of my life sucked too. so i basically just gave up on life. at the time i figured i could just find another job if and when i wanted to (i have a masters degree and a pretty good track record of results). but other pysch issues arose - my fear/hatred of people, social anxiety, adult ADHD, depression, - to the point that i couldnt even think about dealing with the reality of another 9-5 job. i didnt care about the debt, i didnt care about anything. i tried getting help but the meds and therapy didnt take. i wouldve killed myself, but i was too chicken. so now 5 years later - i just "survive".

ive always had a theoretical intent to pay back my cc debt and most certainly would if i had the money - but the tangible evidence of job hunting or frugality isnt there. i never thought ahead like i was gaming the system, or running up charges with the specific intent to file BK and having them discharged - but the evidence might appear otherwise.

now, ironically, if part of my debt is not forgiven, id still be in the same place i am today (burdened, anxious, and unable to pay on my debts).

so - can any of this help my defense if i get an AP?

thanks for your help!

Have you filed, how long since you used your credit cards, and what kind of stuff were you charging on them?
    All information contained in this post is for informational and amusement purposes only.
    Bankruptcy is a process, not an event.......

Comment

It can, but you would need your doctor to testify as an expert witness.