Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

To overtime or not =good or bad?

to all,

would just like to ask in everyones opinions as to overtime hours prior to filing? I work in a hospital, I did enjoy (if you can call it) many hours of overtime in the previous years but now with the economy and my states health care rap out (NJ) hospital closings, layoffs and MINIMAL to 0 overtime is the norm, I even took up 2 more jobs in smaller hospital as needed for some hours. My attorney pretty much advised me to work enough (preferably only my full time hours 40/wk)only to afford making it for the next 4 months before I file because they include overtime even though it isnt guaranteed and fluctuates leaving me with a higher DMI which can trend down at anytime because again, my overtime/per diem hours are NOT guaranteed work hours. will the trustee give me a hard time with this? I am constantly running scenario numbers through NOLO about my income and am on the verge of probably being able to qualify for chapter 7 IF I am only working minimal ot/full time hours. Would the trustee grill me for not being able to pull off more hours of overtime or per diem time? thanks all.

PS: going to stop paying cc's next month (haven't used any in the past 4 months) so those extra payments will keep me afloat without any OT until I file around June.

thanks all.

Ray

Absolutely not, how could the Trustee know your turning down hours?

Thats what I have been doing, whenever there is extra work, I pass it on to someone else to work Saturday. Otherwise, my DMI increases and that just benefits the creditors, not me.

I would stop paying creditors now, not next month, its just a waste of money.

Just be sure that your Schedules I and J are close to reflecting what the Means test calculates for your DMI.

But, keep in mind, if after filing a 13 and you start racking up lots of O/T and if these increases are enough to notify the Trustee, you will need to do so, but its all a numbers game.