Am I Screwed?!?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Am I Screwed?!?

I can't speak for Arizona, but in Mississippi there's no way a family of 4 or 5 or even 10 would be allowed to keep a $625,000 house with a $793,000 combined mortgage unless you were paying the unsecured creditors 100%. The payment on that would be north of $4500 per month. I expect the judge would hold that you could find more reasonable digs and pay your unsecured creditors something instead of trying to service that kind of debt. In effect, you don't own your home. There's no equity. In effect, you're just paying $4500+ a month rent.

I hate to be the one to tell you that and I'll defer, of course, to what your AZ lawyer advises, but I can't see you keeping it in a bankruptcy with those kinds of numbers.
    Pay no attention to anything I post. I graduated last in my class from a fly-by-night law school that no longer exists; I never studied or went to class; and I only post on internet forums when I'm too drunk to crawl away from the computer.

Comment

Comment

I was under the impression that "cramming down" a 2nd mortgage was only possible on an investment property, but I could be wrong....

IF that is the case though, and your home is worth the $625k that you think it is, then you'd have a $237k 2nd that you'd have to pay in full during your plan. That's about $4000 a month just to pay the 2nd mortgage. I'm guessing that if you have that kind of dmi, the trustee wouldn't look favorably on that kind of money going to paying on your house when it could go to unsecured creditors.

Keep us posted on your progress...
        Filed Chapter 13 on 2-28-10. 341 completed 4/14/10. Confirmed 5/14/10. Lien strip granted 2/2/11
        0% payback to unsecured creditors, 56 payments down, 4 to go....

Comment