Almost over?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Almost over?

My husband and I in November 2006. Our confirmation was April 2, 2007. However, we started paying into the plan way before our confirmation was ordered. I have been keeping a close on our case through the National Data Center for chapter 13 filers. I have noticed that our claims with the IRS and other priority claims are all paid off. Originally our case was set at 80% and close to $1600 a month in repayment costs. However, I had to quit work because of a serious shoulder injury. I was a nurse aide and suffered a rotator cuff injury and wasn't able to due the job anymore. We hired a new lawyer because of no representation by the first lawyer. Our new lawyer filed for a modification on our case 2 years ago. We were approved for the modification. It was lowered to 55% and $1100 a month. So we probably paid most of the priority claims down pretty fast. This year we owed a few hundred dollars on our Federal taxes. The taxes are almost paid off. There are a few unsecured claims that are getting paid off here and there. How will we be able to tell when the case is about to be discharged? My attorney said that originally it was due to be discharged around April or May 2011. Now with the lower repayment percentage, couldn't our case be sooner than originally anticipated? Once the priority claims are finished how soon might it be? We've been in this for nearly 4 years and paid over $55,000 to the court. We could have put a nice down payment on a home with that money. However, I'm glad to start fresh again. I'm hoping that the lawmakers will abolish this stupid rules that make people who make middle class wages file for a chapter 13. We don't own any real estate property. We don't have anything of value except our one car. We should have been allowed to file a chapter 7. Maybe, someday this stupid law will be gone. Thanks for any help.

Originally posted by muzzey58 View Post