Edcuation Loans and DMI

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Edcuation Loans and DMI

Newbie here with a question I can't find through forum search.

I completed a 22C and it states I have ~$1,000 in disposable income.

My wife and I pay $600 each month for education loans.

We have ~$80,000 in unsecured debt.

Will a repayment plan factor in the $600 toward educaiton loans? Therefore, only ~$400 per month would go towards repayment of unsecured debt?

Nope, student loan (or education loan) payments DO NOT count.

Comment

So, the full $1,000 of DNI goes towards unsecured debt? The DNI calculation does not include student loans, correct? Mortgage and auto loans are deducted in calculation of DNI. Why aren't student loans?

Thanks

Comment

Because student loans are a debt, and become part of your unsecured class of creditors in BK. Just because student loans are non-dischargeable in BK, does not mean they get treated differently for payment purposes in chapter 13. Plus, student loans go into automatic deferment in chapter 13.

Mortgage and car loans are secured debt. Plus, you are allowed housing and transportation expenses.

Comment

But that depends on the district, doesn't it? I think some places do allow you to pay on your student loans outside the bankruptcy payment plan, just like a car or mortgage. That's my understanding of how it is where I am (West Michigan).

Comment

Originally posted by lorelei View Post
            But that depends on the district, doesn't it? I think some places do allow you to pay on your student loans outside the bankruptcy payment plan, just like a car or mortgage. That's my understanding of how it is where I am (West Michigan).
            Do you know, or are you guessing>