Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Not sure if 13 was right...?

Hi ,
    I'm new to this but have been reading a lot and it is a lot of help... We are a family of 6 and have just filled chp 13 because my franchise started losing money the last 2yrs. I was on a modification with bank of america and everything came to a head at the same time. Franchise sold but no payout of 20k till 2 months later. The modification was fine when I called , but when I got a letter in the mail saying foreclosure they wanted 19k and I wouldnt get the 20k till two weeks after foreclosure date... So we fille chapter 13 to keep the house. I was up to date on everythingelse but the first mortgage. I applied for a new job that they flew me out for my 5th interview. They offered me the job which would cover are house 1st , 2nd and chp 13 payment. I've been reading that I should of come clean that I filed but I didn't realize it would keep me from getting the job. I really need it !! How should I approach them . They loved me! The job gives me a car, fuel card and possibly a company credit card. I was put into a bad situation and now I won't be able to get a job and take care of my family ... What can I do ?

Missouri, is this job in the finance industry? Anything that they need to run a credit check for? My guess is that if they needed to do that, you would have signed a release giving them permission to pull your credit report. If they did that, they would have run the check before offering you the job, I'd think. These days there are so many people filing bankruptcy that it's not really a huge employment issue unless there is something about the job that requires you to have great credit. Do you remember signing anything? Is there anything about disclosing bankruptcy in your job offer?