top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Owe $120k in taxes + foreclosure, file 13 or payment plan?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Owe $120k in taxes + foreclosure, file 13 or payment plan?

I'm a truck driver. Had my own truck until early 2008, which categorized me as a sole propreitor that received 1099's. From 2004 until 2008 I was hanging on because of high fuel prices, truck payment and an adjustable rate mortgage on the house. I used all my credit cards and any line of credit to try and stay afloat during those years(3 kids and a wife too). I ended up leaving my house because of foreclosure warnings. Went on the road and am basically living in the truck for another company.

Haven't paid taxes for the last 3-4 years just to make it. Did file for those years though. I owe about 80-100k in unsecured credit card debt, $250 or so on the mortgage, and the IRS has a lien for about $70k on my house. Also a few civil judgements on the county records for about $2k for the smaller credit cards. Even had a student loan from the early 90's default for $2000, that's how bad it got.

I actually owed about $30k in taxes, but the IRS small business office audited me for 2 years and added $35k for each year. I didn't keep receipts to dispute it, which is my fault. My tax preparer was a local guy who played around with the numbers a lot, and I just went along with it for a few years. To be honest, I was so distraught and depressed, I didn't care to put up a fight. It was just more on top of a mountain of debt I thought I'd never be able to pay.