Another Newbie Here Really long post

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Another Newbie Here Really long post

I'm not sure this is the right place to post so please let me know if I should have posted elsewhere.

My chapter 13 story.

I was working and making great money till 2009. Then the restaurant I had worked in for 7 years started really slowing down. It did close down in 2011.
    I had excellent credit and not one day late on any of my bills. When I saw the real estate market going down I knew I was in trouble. I still was paying my mortgage on time and the credit cards. But work was getting slower and slower. We were a high end restaurant in Miami and people quit spending money.
    I contacted Chase and asked for a modification. To make a long story short after 2 months back and forth with me sending all the paper work I got the letter I couldn't get it.
    I still was not one payment late altho I told them it was coming. My car was paid off. My two credit cards with a balance were still not late. All others were paid off. I still had a job and had some money in the bank so they could know I had the ability to pay if they approved the modification. I felt I was the poster child for getting a loan modification. Still they said no.
    Well I looked for another job, couldn't find one. Looked at all my options.
    I had money in my savings so I had to decide if I would keep paying on a house which was underwater with high taxes and insurance or not.
    I walked away. I took all my money in savings and paid cash for a house in Georgia. 41,000.00. I never wanted to feel like I could be homeless again. Pay taxes and everyone leaves you alone right? BUT for the two credit cards.
    I got served not once and my home but twice 3 weeks ago for the credit cards that had been sold to a collection agency. After talking to family and looking on the internet for all my options I found since I own my house outright I was in deep poo poo.