top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

A few questions about vehicles, newbie here.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

A few questions about vehicles, newbie here.

We are in the begininng stages of filing bankrupcy. I belive my question is simple. We own to vehicles, a 2005 Nissan truck 4x4 and a 2006 Volvo S 40. I understand they are going to take one of the vehicles. I live in a remote area in the mountains of colorado, at about 9000'. The truck is a absolute necessity. The truck has a little equity in it. The volvo is the summer time car, and of course for now that car is upside down. Will they take the truck reguardless of where i live? The truck is the only vehicle that gets around here in the snow in the winter time. Would i be better off trading the truck before i file? If i have two vehicles that are upside down can i chose which one they take?
    Thanks so much

I looked at several websites about the Colorado BK Exemptions. From what I've read, you have a $3K vehicle Exemption.

You said "We" are filing. That indicates you might possibly be filing joint?? If that's the case, your spouse could also get the $3K Exemption as well.

The wording does not say the Vehicle Exemption cannot be doubled and is not limited to one vehicle.

As you Consult with attnys, you'll definitely wanna ask them. Unless your equity in the one vehicle exceeds $6K, sounds like you'd be able to keep both vehicles if you're filing joint.
    Filed Ch 7 - 09/06
    Discharged - 12/2006
    Officially Declared No Asset - 03/2007
    Closed - 04/2007

I am not an attorney. My comments are based on personal experience and research. Always consult an attorney in your area to address concerns related to your particular situation.

Another good thing about being poor is that when you are seventy your children will not have declared you legally insane in order to gain control of your estate. - Woody Allen...

Comment