Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Please Help! Discharged But Getting Harassed

Someone please help me. with this question

I filled for Bankruptcy Sept of 2005, before the new laws took affect. My Bankruptcy was discharged in Feb of 2006... I have recently been getting letters from the attorney general, I usually throw them away but the recent one caught my eye because they said they where going to take legal action... You see I graduated from the university of Akon, and still owed around $1,000 this was in 2003. I guess I never paid it I completly forgot about it, as I did not live where they where sending this bill. This was not a student loan, this was just money owed to the school because I paid out of pocket... Anyways when I filled for bankruptcy I didnt know I had this debt so never listed it in my bankruptcy.... well 1 year after it is discharged I see these letters.... I am about to inform them I filled BK and was discharged, but what if they want to see the list of creditors and see that they where not listed? Will this attorney be able to force me to pay this debt sense I didn't know I had it and forgot to list it? What is going to happen? Do I still owes this debt? I can't afford it. I have heard 2 different stories, I have heard they can force you to pay it if you didn't list it to hide from it (how do they prove that) but I have also heard they wont try because everything was discharged.... if this helps anyone with their response this discharge was a no asset case.

Thanks in advance for all your help.

if it wasn't listed in your BK you are still responsible for the debt.
    Filed Ch. 7 - 11/30/06; 341 meeting 1/10/07; Discharged 3/19/07
    TU: 535

Comment

Originally posted by niteflytes View Post
      if it wasn't listed in your BK you are still responsible for the debt.
      Can anyone else verify that he is correct, because I just located my bk papers, and under the dischrage paper it says....

"Debts not dischargable"