Court

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Court

Hi all! So glad to find this forum. I'm new to this so I don't know if I'll get all the terminology right.

My closest friend was involved in a car accident. She didn't appear at her court date (improperly served subpoena or something?) and was found responsible for the defendant's medical expenses. This amounts to around $30k. As far as I know, alcohol was not a factor.

I feel sorry for her because she herself landed in a wheel chair for 6 months when hit on her bicycle and received no compensation. The victim in the incident she's to pay damages for was not hurt so badly as that. It is objectively unfair, but at this point, there's no legal recourse.

I encouraged her to pursue legal help, potentially towards declaring bankruptcy as she is low income (around $20k yr reportable). Unfortunately, I heard it rumored that many debts, including some court ordered payments, cannot be dismissed under Chapter 7.

Obviously, consulting a lawyer is the best first step. But does anyone know off hand whether this is a good candidate for bankruptcy? If so, should she be agressively paying credit card debt (about $3k) right now, or wait to see if these might be reduced by the court as well. Would dismissal or a long-range payment plan seem more likely to result?

Thanks in advance!

My understanding is that while most debts can be discharged under a chapter 7, debts/judgments incurred as a result of personal injury or death caused by you (or where you were deemed 'at fault') cannot be discharged.

There are other exceptions of non-dischargeable debts, also.

Chapter 7 Filed - 11/27/07
    Discharged - 2/29/08
    Unsecured Debt Discharged - $162k +/- (small business, personally guaranteed)
    Finally Closed - 3/1/09

Comment