Nervous about 341

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Nervous about 341

My husband and I are getting ready to file Chap 7 and I am, for some reason, really nervous about our 341 meeting. I've never in my life dealt with a lawyer before, let alone been under oath in a courtroom. I know I'm not "on trial" but I'm still anxious about how the whole thing will go...Any advice?

Valium
    NOTE: I am not a lawyer...any advice I give is for entertainment purposes only. Legal questions should be directed to competent counsel. I am just a troll. Or a Toad.

Comment

My 341 was in a confress room, in a office building, but i did have to raise my hand and say i will tell the truth, meeting took about 5- 10 minutes, my attorney just sat beside me, when it was over she said well now there is a 60 day period where the creditors can file, so the wait is on.

Comment

Originally posted by erankin44 View Post
        My husband and I are getting ready to file Chap 7 and I am, for some reason, really nervous about our 341 meeting. I've never in my life dealt with a lawyer before, let alone been under oath in a courtroom. I know I'm not "on trial" but I'm still anxious about how the whole thing will go...Any advice?
        Our's - and most that I have heard of - are much less formal than a traffic court hearing or anything like that. At our's people were going in and out of the room at will, letting the door slam behind them, people were whispering to each other in the "audience" etc... Guess it depends on where your's is and how many cases they do a day.

It could also be formal and have just a few people in the room I suppose.

But the bottom line is, there is nothing to it. 9 chances out of 10 they are just going to swear you in, ask you the same questions they ask everyone else: your name, do you own any property, etc (see the FAQ on this), and you answer and you're done.