Balance Transfers

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Balance Transfers

My husband and I are 50K in debt. We have a 4 year old and another on the way. My hubby only makes like 50K a year working 2 jobs. I am a nursing student. We are seriously considering BK. We are current and have never missed a payment. My hubbys score is in the 800's. We just transferred a whole bunch of credit cards onto 0% interest cards. By reading articles on the internet I am freaking out because alot of them say you can't have these discharged because it looks like a major purchase. We did this as an attempt to make our situation better to pay off the debt. Is this going to make us look like we are committing fraud?

We did the same back in December, then filed in April. At our 341 hearing, we were asked if we made any major purchases on our credit cards in the previous 90 days for luxury items. The balance transfers were never an issue and I think the only way they would be is if the individual creditor objected to discharge or the UST attempted to dismiss on the basis of fraud. If you're below the median income, I think you'd be below the radar of the UST anyway.