Executory Contracts

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Executory Contracts

Hello All! I have been trying to register on this site for almost two weeks and im finally here! Anyways, I am a 28y/o student who filed pro se about a week ago and I have a question regarding executory contracts. Here it goes...

backround- Signed a contract with a local "agency" to work for them (on a paid basis) for approximately 3 yrs once I graduate (June 09), and in return I recieved a "bonus" of 30k (paid already). Spouse lost job and we had to relocate a few months ago, over 100 miles from future "job". Could not keep up with bills and quickly became flat broke as we have no income. Filed BK due to large amount of debt and no income coupled with job loss. I have decided to finish my graduate studies as opposed to working directly after graduation (juune 09) for several reasons: 1) do not like (no longer) the field I was going into, 2) found a grad field i really enjoy, 3) I wish to finish my studies while im reletively young, etc. The relationship between myself and future employer is shot, if I dont get the contract rejected/discharged in the bk they will break it (as either party can do without reason per the contract) immediately and the 30k becomes due in 30 days. The contract was written with no clauses pertaining to BK, and the payments were written as being for "education related expenditure stipend" (but not a student loan, not a loan at all). The contract is actually very short and mostly entails what the parties need to do to keep the contract rolling. I will be "bulletproof" as you all say, for at least the next year. No credit card usage or purchases of any kind (on credit) within the last 7 months. Applied for social services (welfare) yesterday.

Questions-
    1)has anyone had any experience with executory contracts?
    2)has anyone ever heard of a work contract like this involved in a BK?
    3)ANy opinions/pointers/advice? (besides getting a lawyer)