Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Living in Europe...can't pay CC debts in California

Hello All,

I've been lurking on this forum for a few days now and it has been a wealth of information. Thanks to all the contributors. I'm a newbie so please forgive me if my situation has already been discussed...feel free to direct me to any older threads that relate to me.

Now about my situation. I moved to Europe in April 2007. I'm now married, going to school and will probably live here for the rest of my life since my husband is from here. Since I moved almost 2 years ago, I basically stopped paying all of my credit cards. I also don't own any property and all that's left in California under my name is my checking account which has a balance of about $4000. I do have a car in my name however my parents technically bought it from me and we've just never changed the title. The car is paid for, free and clear.

I have about $30K in credit card debt. All my mail goes to my parents' house. It's the same drill...never-ending phone calls, stacks of letters, etc. I just checked my credit report and it looks like everything has already been charged off.

At this point, should I consider bankruptcy/Chapter 7? I can afford to pay the attorney fees but two attorneys I've talked to have straight out told me not to even bother. I have no intentions of moving back to California. Perhaps just a visit to my parents twice a year but other than that, my life is here in Europe with my husband.

Both these attorneys have told me that creditors have bigger fish to fry and the sum of my debts is "just a drop in the bucket". I find this hard to believe but it's already been almost 2 years and as far as I know, there aren't any judgments, liens, or summons' in my name. One attorney told me to just wait it out until the 4 year SOL comes into play.