cell phones

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

cell phones

My husband and I are filing mid-Jan possibly February. I have a 476 bill with Cingular past due. They said if I do not make 240 of it today I will get turned off and have to pay a 35 fee to get it back on. My bill is supposed ot be 170 plus taxes a month for cell phone and internet. Somehow it is about 230 a month when I do not go over anything.

Anyway, I call to tell them I only have 100 today-not 240. She says they cannot make another payment arrangment and if I do not pay the 240 they are turning it off. Should I pay them the 100 and hope they dont turn me off. I am thinking of just starting fresh with Sprint and opening an account today before I file bk. And just letting the 476 go to collections with cingular.

Should I do this? Would this be fraud since I am just letting it go to collections and starting new?

I'm no expert, but from what I understand, you can use your BK to get out of your cell phone contract. I was (am) in almost the exact same situation as you, with Verizon wireless. Even though it was supposed to cost $100 or so, each month seemed to be a $250 bill - even without any major overages.

I was so happy to learn that we could just let it go and get what we owed discharged, and out of our contract. It's not fraud. I think it feels that way because it's in our nature to want to pay what we agreed to pay. I think for many of us, filing BK at all is difficult because of the right/wrong dilemma we feel inside. My feeling about fraud is, if you're committing it, you know it darn well.

But back to the cell phone issue, what we did was let the big expensive contract go, let the phones get turned off, and bought prepaid phones and minutes. There are actually some pretty decent plans out there. This way, we are in control of how much we spend on cell phones each month, not the other way around.

HTH!
    Visit my blog and say hi!
    http://apple-afreshstart.blogspot.com