Chapter 7 - Presumption of abuse arises

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Chapter 7 - Presumption of abuse arises

Has anyone here successfully filed Chapter 7 when their means test resulted in the presumption of abuse?

Due to a bonus that I received in January, my income is artificially inflated for the 6 month look-back period. Due to the economy, the likelihood of my getting an annual bonus in future years is bleak (I work in the investment industry, and annual bonuses are based on company performance); in fact, my employer recently laid-off 10% of it's workforce and suspended all raises, including cost of living increases.

My lawyer is of the opinion that he can argue that my recent bonus is a one-time "special circumstance", as there is no guaranteed annual bonus amount (there is a maximum that I can receive, but even the bonus I got this year was less than the max) or even a guaranteed annual bonus , especially in light of the current economy. If fact, my lawyer already spoke to the UST assigned to my district regarding this circumstance and the UST agreed that, as long as the bonus was the only item that instigated my failing the means test, that he would not pursue a presumption of abuse claim.

Anyway, when filing my paperwork, it will be filed as a Chapter 7 with the presumption of abuse box checked, and I was curious if anyone else filed similarly and what their experience was. Before anyone asks, due to other circumstances, I can not wait until the bonus drops off to file. I just wanted to clarify that in the event someone makes the suggestion, or asks why I'm not waiting. I'm more interested in the experience of others, and I was unable to locate similar experiences in my search of the forums.

Taxed,