top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

? about the time between filing and discharge, how to pay for services.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

? about the time between filing and discharge, how to pay for services.

Hello,

I am a new user to the forum. Good site, lots of information.

I live in Arizona, I have just retained an attorney who is guiding me through Ch.7.

I have nearly finished all of the paperwork and will do the required courses this weekend.

One of my questions is, what happens after I file and a trustee is appointed, to my bank accounts? I understand that the accounts should be low or nil when you file, but what happens when I get my paycheck and there is more money in the account?

In my specific case, I am a Small business owner (S Corp) and I bill my clients weekly. That money goes into my business account, and then I get a paycheck.

Will my bank accounts be locked? How will I continue to pay my bills (elec, gas, mortgage, fuel costs, etc)?

I have searched the forum and could not really find an answer. If the question has been asked and answered before, could you paste the link in your reply.

Thank you.

2spotteddogs you only have to make sure you are under the AZ limit on the day you file your Ch 7. Make sure your bank account has less than $150 single or $300 married couple on filing day. Anything over that will belong to the trustee. Otherwise it doesn't matter and you can resume using your checking account immediately after your filing date. The filing day itself is the only one the trustee is concerned about.

Your biggest concern is to stop using your checking account BEFORE you file to make sure all checks have cleared so you are under the limit for AZ. Pay everything with money orders before you file and keep records.