New to this.. please help..

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New to this.. please help..

I just talked with a lawyer today and I want to file chapter 7 and keep my house. He said that if my house is appraised any over what I bought it for, then they will come after my house. I guess my question is why if the house is say only worth 5 or 10 thousand over what we paid for it. It is also in my husbands name and he is not on the bankruptcy. Can they still take my house? I have not missed any payments.

Which state are you in, Brandy?

How much is your house worth?
    Pay no attention to anything I post. I graduated last in my class from a fly-by-night law school that no longer exists; I never studied or went to class; and I only post on internet forums when I'm too drunk to crawl away from the computer.

Comment

I live in virginia and the apprasial i had done in oct said 265000 n i paid 259700J

Comment

Hi brandy. Im in the process of Chpt. 7 and possibly converting to 13 depending on what the US trustee pushes for. We have 120K in unsecured debt. regarding going after the home... Our home we bought for 217K and owe 189K. When we bought it 2.5 years ago it was appraised for $224K. With the cost of homes and the market value declining also being saturated with foreclosures. our attorney stated that the trustee would not go after the house. Well he didn't go after the house and actually closed the estate stating there is nothing there to recoup. Its the US trustee on our case that is looking at our 401K loans. Another story, another time. Maybe you could get another opinion. We went through two other b4 finding this one. One other one was a high volume, "meat processing" firm... They didn't want any snags and told us 13 was our only option at the preliminary meeting. He was also going to charge us $3300 for the 13 (standard) - the payment is taken off the top of what you would pay back in a 13.