top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Can you walk away from everything in a 7?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can you walk away from everything in a 7?

Not only CCs, but your mortgage, everything, just say I am done, here have it all and walk away?

Not behind on the mortgage, have stopped paying all CCs.

Are you under the medain income for your state and your size of family?

Comment

There are some debts that you may still be responsible for after bk (student loans, taxes). Most secured and unsecured debt can be eliminated in bk. It would be best for you to set up a few free meetings with a bk attorney and they can go over your specific financial situation. There are some great threads on here to review. I am new to this process and I have learned alot about the bk process. The peeps on here have been very helpful. I wish the best for you.

Comment

Yes you can but you have to be really carefully because if you "walk away" from everything, that probably will increase your DMI (disposable monthly income) and *might* push you into a ch 13.
        May 2008 Hired 1st Attorney/Stopped paying CCs
        May 21, 2009 Retained 2nd Attorney
        May 28th - Filed for Ch 7 (FINALLY!)
        9/11/09 - DISCHARGED!!!!

Comment

Originally posted by liz417 View Post
          Yes you can but you have to be really carefully because if you "walk away" from everything, that probably will increase your DMI (disposable monthly income) and *might* push you into a ch 13.

Thats about what I thought. My attorney said if I want to add the house or truck to the BK just let him know....also if I want to add them at a later time, I can do that as well.

No student loans, I was to damn young and stupid to go to collage, no I had to go to work, skip that education...I kick myself these days for that.

Comment

Originally posted by kenshirley View Post