top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Ignorance by financial professionals or some kind of conspiracy?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Ignorance by financial professionals or some kind of conspiracy?

Okay, I am new here, so excuse the cryptic and paranoid title. But why is it that everyone you talk to, including more than HALF the BK lawyers and accountants believe that Federal Income Taxes are not discharged in bankruptcy? It is a little scary to be honest!

Because I am not a financial professional, and to hear these highly trained and educated lawyers and CPA's tell me, unequivocally, that back income taxes and penalties will have to be repaid (even if I file BK) gives me pause.

I have tried to educate them, but how do I know that I am right, and that all you folks are right, maing all of them wrong? I mean no offense by this, but it is more than a little unnerving to know that my ONLY source of information telling me that you can discharge taxes in bankruptcy comes from the Internet! lol Does that make any sense?

Only under certain conditions are back taxes discharged.

8) Eighth, allowed unsecured claims of governmental units, only to the extent that such claims are for--

(A) a tax on or measured by income or gross receipts for a taxable year ending on or before the date of the filing of the petition--

(i) for which a return, if required, is last due, including extensions, after three years before the date of the filing of the petition;

(ii) assessed within 240 days before the date of the filing of the petition, exclusive of--

(I) any time during which an offer in compromise with respect to that tax was pending or in effect during that 240-day period, plus 30 days; and

(II) any time during which a stay of proceedings against collections was in effect in a prior case under this title during that 240-day period, plus 90 days.

Comment