top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Why do some folks wait a long time to file BK?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Why do some folks wait a long time to file BK?

I have been reading about some folks who haven't made payments for a year or so and will be filing BK, but yet they wait. What is the reason for this? Why don't these folks simply wait the 3 or 6 months and file BK and get over it?

Because they have financial or personal reasons that preclude them from doing that.
    "To go bravely forward is to invite a miracle."

"Worry is the darkroom where negatives are formed."

Comment

I'm new to this but I'm guessing they may have some charges that could be objected to and they want to avoid an AP. At least in my case, that's where I'm at. I was convinced we could file after the 90 days, but I'm scared to death now...and all because I needed a furnace in June...I don't think heat is a luxury in the Northeast...but my creditor might.

Just plain scared now!
      Stopped paying CC: September 2009 ; Retained attorney: 9/9/2009; Filed Chap 7: January 18, 2010; 341 Meeting: March 9, 2010; Discharged and Closed: April 29, 2010

Comment

"To each his own"
        Stopped Payings CC's: 8/14/2009 | Retained Attorney: 9/23/2009 | Filed CH 7: 12/7/2009 | 341 Meeting: 1/21/2010 - Complete | Discharged: 4/9/2010
        "One person pretends to be rich, yet has nothing; another pretends to be poor, yet has great wealth."

Comment

Originally posted by ace13 View Post
          I'm new to this but I'm guessing they may have some charges that could be objected to and they want to avoid an AP. At least in my case, that's where I'm at. I was convinced we could file after the 90 days, but I'm scared to death now...and all because I needed a furnace in June...I don't think heat is a luxury in the Northeast...but my creditor might.

Just plain scared now!