Ok, I'm confused

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Ok, I'm confused

I'm planning on filing Ch. 7 shortly. I am single, one car, one house, no job. Just got laid off. I keep reading where people are losing their house and/or car. I can continue to make payments on my house/car. Could I potentially lose them?

Thanks in advance for your help/advice.
    11/09 FICO - 735 ~ 01/10 FICO 545

If your creditor is the type that will reaffirm (i.e. not FORD - they hate reaffirmations), and if your house and car payments are reasonable, and either your attorney (if you have one) or the judge (if you filed pro-se) do not believe it is a hardship for you to keep them, then you're good.

--William
    I am an attorney, but I am just not your attorney.
    As such, any statement is not intended to create an attorney/client relationship.

Comment

Thanks for your speedy reply!

Car is a 2004 honda and I owe about 8,500 on it. Was a lease, then I purchased it. It has less than 50K miles. (I took the bus A LOT!). Note is $285/mo.

House is in modification from $1,450/mo to $1,291/mo. Modification should be done at end of March, but I'm sure once BOA gets wind of the BK, that will all explode, no?

I should have no problem getting a position paying at least 40K in the near future.

Comment

Sorry for all the 'qualifications' (if, if if) but I just had to refuse to approve a client's reaffirmation because although he wanted to keep his house, he couldn't afford it on his present salary nor his expected salary over the next year. It made me feel like crap doing it, but if he reaffirms a house that is $150k underwater, and can't pay it after bankruptcy, then he'll be back in the same position but not able to file bankruptcy again for 8 years. In that case, and any case where your attorney doesn't approve, we submit them to the court and let the judge decide if he will allow it.

--William