Income Question.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Income Question.

Have a quick question before I file (hopefully next month). I work in education and only get paid 10 months out of the year. I make about 5818 per pay check, 58181 annually. That is over 10 months not 12, so in actuality I only earn 4848 per month (58181/12). When I calculate my income over the past 6 months (Sep-Feb), it appears that I make 5818 a month because that is on my paychecks, but I really don't.
    -Does the trustee take this into consideration? Because I do not get paid July and August, I must put aside money from each check during the school year to account for those 2 months.
    Will the trustee adjust my income to reflect how I get paid? Just curious as how this works, because I certainly do not make 69,816 per year (5818*12). I don't want it to appear that I am over the median when I file. Thanks for your help.

For the means test you make whatever you actually earned in the previous 6 calendar months, the $5,818 times 6.

You will use your earning over 12 months divided by 12 ($4,848)for schedule I.
    Well, I did. Every one of 'em. Mostly I remember the last one. The wild finish. A guy standing on a station platform in the rain with a comical look in his face because his insides have been kicked out. -Rick

Comment

2 more questions.

Ok....does that mean if I don't pass the means test for Ch.7 because my expenses are not enough based on the 6 month calculation, am I still able to file Ch. 7 when they take a look at my real income?

Also, is there a place on any schedule to include money that is saved for my months when I will not be working?

Comment

Originally posted by vrspartak View Post
        Ok....does that mean if I don't pass the means test for Ch.7 because my expenses are not enough based on the 6 month calculation, am I still able to file Ch. 7 when they take a look at my real income?