top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Secured credit cards: Useful for booking travel?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Secured credit cards: Useful for booking travel?

Hi all --

(I apologize for re-posting, but things are pretty quiet on the Rebuilding Credit forum where'd I originally posted this, so....)

My debts were recently discharged, and as part of rebuilding my credit I'm going to get a secured credit card from my bank.

Since I'm a freelancer who sometimes must incur travel expenses upfront, I want to find out the usefulness of a secured credit card in booking travel.

This will help me decide the amount I should deposit to open my account (which I realize is inflexible once I open the account; i.e, in effect I won't be able to raise my credit limit by depositing additional funds).

RENTAL CARS: I can't make out from several websites whether rental car companies accept secured credit cards to create a reservation. Hertz says they won't accept "prepaid" or "stored value" cards. And I know most locations (esp. the kind of heavy biz-travel places I'd be most likely to go) won't accept debit cards.

HOTELS and AIRLINES: Anyone know about the usefulness of debit cards and secured credit cards for booking with these guys?

Thank you,

MOE

I attended a Dave Ramsey class prior to filing BK (yeah, I know) and he swears you can rent cars and book hotels with VISA debit cards because he is ANTI CREDIT CARD. I sometimes travel for my job too so I don't know how Im going to handle this either.
    Filed CH7 Feb 12 2010
    341 March 18
    Discharged...May 18
    Awaiting closing...

Comment

My best friend strongly recommends that I read Dave Ramsey to address all my money questions and concerns, but I haven't got around to it yet. (Did you like the class?)

Dumb question: Would a Mastercard logo work as well?