Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Bankruptcy, Finally

Hi Everyone,

I'm a newbie to this forum. I've been in debt ever since college, but never out of control until the last couple of years. I haven't worked in almost 2 years and my husband is the only one with the source of income. Even with me not working, we've always managed to pay my bills and everything else, minimum payments though. But nevertheless, bills were being paid. For the last several months, I've been seriously contemplating filing for bankruptcy as an individual. All these debts are under my name solely and many of which I've had even before getting married. My husband and I have kept our debts separate so we don't have anything joint together. I have 50K worth of debt, haven't worked in nearly 2 years, no income under my name, don't own anything, no house. Will I be denied for bankruptcy? I've read online that people can be denied. It's not fair to my husband that he keeps making ends meet because of my debts and I'm drowning the both of us. So this is something I've been considering for a long time and it's something I'm finally going to do. It's not something I'm proud of, but it's something I rather do than have everyone else drown with me. Anyone with a similar situation as me? What can I expect? Will my bankruptcy drag my husband down somehow? Any insight would be appreciated. I'm meeting with the lawyer tomorrow.