Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Income after Filing

I Live Madeira Beach in the Central District of Florida

I am a realtor and have been accumulating an unsumountable amount of debt due to the horrible real estate market. Because of this, I have no choice but to file now. I have been preparing for my BK 7 filing for many months now and am scheduled to file tomorrow or on Tuesday.

My problem is that I finally might have a closing on one of my deals and get paid a commission check of around $9000. I do not know when it will come, but I think it will be sooner then later.

Is this commision check in danger of being taken by the trustee if I get it AFTER I file? If it's at risk, I am thinking of holding off and not depositing it? Maybe wait 3 months?

Any of you had this dilema and how did you handle it?
    Last edited by scs30885; 03-07-2010, 08:54 AM.

My guess is that you might actually luck out here. If the closing hasn't happened before you file, presumably the check isn't due to you when you file, so it's not an asset of the bankruptcy estate. (I believe that it is an asset if you are due it or hold it even undeposited.) If this commission check doesn't indicate an expectable general pattern evincing that you much underestimated your Schedule I income then it may make no consequential difference to your Schedule J DMI. I can imagine that it might invite scrutiny and argument, given that at your 341 the trustee may ask what's happened since filing, in a way that makes you have to mention this to them, but I can certainly imagine that a reasonable attorney may still be able to have it not be a problem. I am not an attorney myself, though, so this is not advice, I am just thinking aloud in case I provide you, or anyone else responding, any useful thoughts. I'd be interested to hear from others why my guess would be wrong!

Comment

Thank you mtbc, the fast response is much appreciated!