Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Reopening Discharged Pro Se Case to Initiate Student Loan AP

Hi,
    I was discharged (2 credit cards) and my case was closed in February. I still have $220k outstanding in private student loans. I'm 25 and have a job now, but on a 50k salary there is no way I can pay down this debt -I'm trying, but the math is impossbile. I'm thinking of reopening the case to file an AP. I'd love to hear your thoughts. Thanks.

I'm no expert, but I believe APs get filed by creditors to object to the discharge of certain debts.
    Get mortgage modified: DONE! 7 months of back interest payments amortized, payment reduced over $200/mo
    (In the 'planning' stage, to file ch. 13 if/when we have to.)

Comment

Actually, you don't need to reopen your BK. So long as the student loans were "listed" in your BK. You can file the Adversary Proceeding at any time. The AP is a separate case with its own case number. The only requirement to file the AP to discharge student loan debt is that you received a discharge in the underlying BK. You can file the AP at anytime thereafter, even years later.

Now, realize, these cases are NOT easy to win. To even have a good shot at it, you need to hire two expert witnesses to testify as to your earning capacity and job prospects. Also, being so young, it will be an uphill battle to get them discharged. The average cost to do a case like this, and do it for real, is about $10,000 to $15,000. The case is full-blown litigation.

Comment

Thanks, HHM. And I am aware of the risks and difficulty; I just fear I have no choice. I'm paying $2k/month to meet the minimums on the debt.

I live in NYC where the garnishment cap is 10% of gross wages. What's your take on going into default and getting the 5k taken out through judgement. I'd be paying out much less than I currently am.

Comment