Newbie - filed 06/30

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie - filed 06/30

Hello all. Newbie here. The house of cards finally collapsed.

We had great credit until DH got into an accident and couldn't work for 5 months. He didn't qualify for disability or unemplyment since they held his job and he was only out 5 months. In that time I "did the right thing" and contacted our creditors to let them know our situation and to see how they could work with us. HA!!! I was told over and over they would notate my file but nothing could be done until we were late on payments.

Two months later the savings was gone and we started paying late. Next thing you know our credit limits were slashed and our 2%-8% credit cards went to 24.9%-31.9%. New minimum payments were outrageous.

DH finally went back to work, we racked up some MORE unexpected medical debts. Add that to the interest and fees inflating our credit card bills and our debt ballooned from $25,000 at the beginning of this mess to the $135,000 it is today. Optimists that we are, we tried to settle credit cards and come up with a 5 year plan to pull us out of debt.

Then we got the papers served for two lawsuits totalling $26,000 of the CC debt and met with a lawyer last Friday. On Monday I turned in our paperwork and on Wednesday we filed Chapter 7. I feel like a 10,000 pound weight has been lifted off of us!

No word yet on our 341 but thanks to this forum I'm not sweating it. I'm praying that in 4 months we will be celebrating our fresh start!
    Filed Chapter 7 - 06/30/2010
    Discharged - 11/18/2010
    Closed - 12/22/2010

Wow. I could have written this exact post but instead of medical bills, our income decreased more than 50% over the last 18 months. We are self employed - construction - and with this economy just lucky we still have any business at all.