Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Assets Were Owned in GA. Now I live in NYC, getting ready to file chapter 7

Hi,

I am very new to BK and all the legal complexities of it. Basically, I purchased my home in GA in 2005 $142K, then an investment lot in SW FL $16k shortly after. Other debt include a car loan $14k, BofA cc $5000, Home Depot cc $2500, Lowes cc $1500, other misc. medical bills etc. All together, total debt $187k.

Separated from my husband at the start of 2008, medical issues mid 2008. All that time I was still working. However I got laid off in June 2009, and have not been able to find a job since.

Home and lot have already been foreclosed on, and I turned my car over to the lender voluntarily. I walked away from the house two weeks following my lay off, because I was up side down in my mortgage and just wanted out of it. I moved back to NYC last summer. Did a couple of temp assignments and I am now getting NYS unemployment which after tax gets me $377 per week.

That is my only source of income.

I am trying to get a fresh start and am filing chapter 7 pro se by Friday of this week. My question is:

1. How do I list the real estate that has been foreclosed? Are they now unsecured debt, since I no longer have possession of them?
    2. My only assets are my furniture (total purchase price of about $4000, don't know what they would appraise at now), appliances (side by side refrigerator, washer/dryer/stove/microwave), flat panel tv

All of these things are in storage in GA.

Do I have to list them at all?
    NYC allows a $5000 exemption on personal property. That should cover the current value of my stuff. But will the trustee take that into consideration?

Any one familiar with BK in NYC?
    I did it! Finally filed 8/18/2010. 341 meeting on 9/22/2010. Last day for objections 11/22/2010.