Lawyer Files this week ... Sort of Stunned

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Lawyer Files this week ... Sort of Stunned

Well done, phillyman. Thanks for sharing your experience!!

Comment

Thanks for your story. I'm just starting out....BK never crossed my mind until a couple of weeks ago.

I have to ask - you say you haven't made your cc pmts. in two years - what action have they taken

Comment

I see alot of my thought processes in your writing as well. If you had asked me just three months ago if I would file for bankruptcy, my answer would have been no. In fact, our first visit to an attorney, I wasn't really looking for answers on how to file bankruptcy - but what our other options were, because "we were not in that bad of a situation." Well, turns out we were. The attorney - although I didn't like him and know I would have been unhappy with him had we retained him - point blank said, "Bankruptcy is in your future. There is no other way out short of a huge inheritance or winning the lottery." I left there in tears, but it made me realize that we really were "in that bad of a situation." After coming to grips with the fact that we were going to lose our home - which was the only thing that was really troubling me - I've actually slept better. It killed me at first to think of leaving here -- now I'm so ready to be gone. Amazing how things can change in just a matter of three months. We're staying to take advantage of the "free rent" for now, but I'm so ready to be somewhere else that I can actually afford with no other bills weighing me down.
        04/01/10 - Hit rock bottom and knew we were going to have to file for bankruptcy and surrender our home. 12/14/10 - Filed Chapter 7, 02/09/11 - 341 Hearing, 04/14/11 -

Comment