Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Big plunge

Hi Everyone,

I'm really new to this, but I've got a question that I haven't been able to track down in the archives (maybe because it is such a general question)

Basically, I'm about ready to trip and fall on my face with the upcoming month of ccd payments. I've never, never, never missed a payment on anything before. I've got a bunch of cards that are pretty much at the top of their limits and have no idea what to expect when I won't be able to afford any of the payments in November. Does anyone know if they'll just tack on the late fees and bend-over-now fees, and rape fees right on top of everything else, putting the cards over limit? I suppose then I'll see some nice over-limit fees, too? And once they get done feasting on new fees, then what happens? I'll be way over my limits by then. I know it'll blast away at my lovely credit score but I really don't care about that right now. They'll probably raise the interest rates, too, especially on some of those 0% interest transfers that I took a while back. Lovely. I'm kind of freaked out because this is new territory for me. Anyone have experience with this?

I'm still exploring my options for managing my debt, so I don't know if I'll try to negotiate something or what. I mean, we're talking holy-crap-just-got-my-wakeup-call-stupor-phase right now. Given my financial situation, a chapter 7 bankruptcy might be an option. When I realized how much debt I owe vs what I can pay, well I stopped using the cards immediately. But that was only last week, so it's still a pretty fresh thing. Anyway... anyone have any insight around what my credit card companies might have in store for me when I miss November's payments? I'm pretty sure I'll be able to make payments in December, but maybe not the full amounts.
    OK - from now on it's not a "Bankruptcy." It's a "Weight Loss Program." I'm in. Sign me up.