This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Do food stamps count as income?

We are on the verge of getting approved for food benefits, and my husband was wondering if they count as income in a BK?

Thanks
    Filed 5/31/11 341 & Report of No Distribution 7/28/11 Discharged & Closed!! 9/29/11
    "What I won't accept or buy any longer is that my credit score defines who I am. Screw that."

Originally posted by NewPage View Post
    We are on the verge of getting approved for food benefits, and my husband was wondering if they count as income in a BK?

Thanks
    Yes, they do.
    Pay no attention to anything I post. I graduated last in my class from a fly-by-night law school that no longer exists; I never studied or went to class; and I only post on internet forums when I'm too drunk to crawl away from the computer.

Comment

Of course, it bears to mention that if you're poor enough for food stamps, it's not like you make a ton of money. It will only bring you to the 130% of the FPL.

Comment

Originally posted by bk2009 View Post
        Of course, it bears to mention that if you're poor enough for food stamps, it's not like you make a ton of money. It will only bring you to the 130% of the FPL.
        how poor do u have to be?
        cause i have seen people use food stamps and then drive away in a mercedes
        Filed chapter 7 on 9/17 341 on 10/20
        Chapter 7 Trustee's Report of No Distribution on 10/21
        Discharged and Case Closed on 12/21/2010

Comment

Originally posted by scorpion35 View Post
          Not everybody driving an expensive car owns an expensive car - and I'm speaking from experience here. Let's say they made a huge down-payment and have a lower monthly payment on that car (maybe it's a lease as well). In that case, you can even "drive" such a car with a very low income without having a lot of equity in it or any equity at all (lease).