Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Stay and Not pay, Pay Property taxes?

Hey folks,
    While filing for CH7 we have decided to ride thru on our house. Basically we quite paying our mortgage this month and our hoping to stay in our crap hole of a house until June. I have seen that most say we should keep our insurance, But was curious to know if we should bother paying our real-estate property taxes. We are in Mo for anyone who knows anything state specific.

A few people have told me that we shouldn't bother, Who ever buys the house or the mortgage company will pick them up. Others have told us that if the state puts a lien against the house it will show up on our credit further damaging it.
    Chapter 7
    Filed, 12/21/2010
    Discharged, 03/30/2011

I would assume that the taxes would be put on the house. Since you are no longer responsible for the house seems like your good to not pay. Im not a lawyer just a Noob trying to help out =)
    Chapter 7 - Filed 11/28/2010 <> 341 Meeting - Done 12/28/2010 <><> Report of No Distribution 12/28/2010 <><><> 60 Day Club <><><><>Discharged 3/1/2011<>>

Comment

Another vote for not paying. Unless the Show Me state is a recourse state.
      No Asset 7 closed 11/09

Comment

Property taxes are attached to the property, rather than a person. Yes, the bank or new buyer will have to pay the overdue property taxes upon transfer of title, I do believe.
        Filed pro se, made it through the 341, discharged, Closed!!!

Comment

Hi etechj,

The property taxes attach to the property unless you live in some odd part of the country where they hitch them on a star.....

Don't pay a dime if the house is going away. The arguement 'they can file a lien and hurt my credit' is like the elephant steps on you and you are worried b/c there is a kid on top riding the elephant.

You can even drop the insurance coverage down to just your liability and contents.