top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Merchant sends credit to discharged CC - how to handle ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Merchant sends credit to discharged CC - how to handle ?

I canceled two frequent flier tickets and the airline credited the original form of payment regardless of what I told them when I canceled it. I had to pay a reinstatement fee and did so with a debit card but the dolts they are credited the taxes back to a discharged card. Not pocket change either and they're telling me to go fix their problem myself.

I have no background in CC's. I would have thought the credit would have bounced back to them as the account number is invlaid ?

Bump. No one ?

Comment

Hi idainc,

...kind of confused here, sorry...

I canceled two frequent flier tickets and the airline credited the original form of payment regardless of what I told them when I canceled it.

What was the original form of payment? The discharged cc?

I had to pay a reinstatement fee and did so with a debit card

what the heck...do they deliberately complicate frequent flyer programs....
      Not sure what happened here, they gave you back the miles? Refund the ticket price?

but the dolts they are credited the taxes back to a discharged card.

Can't credit a closed account, but you can credit a discharged card if it is not closed. ...BK discharge, no way, card gotta be closed

Not pocket change either and they're telling me to go fix their problem myself.

Gotta bump it up to a higher level, if they claim to have credited a closed card with your money they have committed fraud. Get as high as you can in the corporate structure and raise a stink.

Good luck with this,

Tom in Colo
      Ch7 filed 5/12/2010.....341 meeting 6/30/2010....report of no distribution 8/15/2010.....discharged 10/01/2010.....closed 11/09/2010

Comment