Should I kick my son out?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Should I kick my son out?

I am planning on filing for bankruptcy this year and am wondering if they are going to want my son to liquidate his accounts as well. Between savings, personally managed stocks, and 401k , he's got about 10k.

I don't want to drag him into this, and I know he works hard. Not for sure what they will want from him if he continues to live at home. What will they want from him? Should I kick him out for a while so it is easier to file?

I'm not an expert, but in my experience, he is not filing BK, you are, BUT, they may count his income. I think that may depend on if you claim him as a dependent on your taxes. I have a disabled daughter who gets SSD, they counted that in my schedules, but I believe that SSD is not counted like regular income. I think if you do not claim him as a dependent, he should not be involved, but again, this is just my experience personally.
    Filed Ch 7: 11/2010 and 03/2011 and closed

Comment

Originally posted by VerySad View Post
      I am planning on filing for bankruptcy this year and am wondering if they are going to want my son to liquidate his accounts as well. Between savings, personally managed stocks, and 401k , he's got about 10k.

I don't want to drag him into this, and I know he works hard. Not for sure what they will want from him if he continues to live at home. What will they want from him? Should I kick him out for a while so it is easier to file?
      My son lives with me and work and give me money for rent, all my lawyer told me was that the income he give's me for went will be included in my income. The money he give's me for rent is deposited into my checking account each week and the trustee will be able to see the deposit. With my son's deposits it still put me under what's allowed for me to file bk for my state.

Comment

Hi VerySad,