top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Increase in property tax value pushed us $15k over the exemption. What now?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Increase in property tax value pushed us $15k over the exemption. What now?

We were just getting ready to file Chapter 7 bankruptcy when our new real estate tax assessment arrived, and it is $20,000.00 more than it was last year. We were right at $30,000.00 equity (my wife and I) after realtor fees before the new assessment came in the mail today.

Here's the breakdown:

$337,827.00 Taxed Value
    -$268,986.98 Mortgage Payoff
    -$23,647.89 Realtor Fees To Sell Home
    -$30,000.00 Allowed Equity For Filing Jointly in Illinois

$15,192.13 Over Limit

Does this mean we will be forced into Chapter 13? Are there any other options?

Also, I have another question. I do web design for a living, and my income is based on how many new website clients I get each month. One month I may make $9,000.00 gross sales and the next month I might make $7,000.00 or less. However, I have been averaging around $9,000.00 before business expenses (office expenses, T1 connection, subcontractor fees, referral commissions, etc.), resulting in about $72,000 a year ($6,000.00 a month) in net income - which is under the allowable $81,097 in Illinois with four dependents.

We only have one vehicle. So, other than the over-the-limit home equity, we qualify for Chapter 7. We need to unload about $70,000.00 in unsecured credit card debt and a $75,000.00 SBA loan that is secured with my business assets. We ran these debts up by trying to keep two full-time employees on payroll through the 2008 recession, but we ran out of money when my business sales dropped in half by the end of 2008.