Filing Joint Chapter 7 in about two weeks, questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Filing Joint Chapter 7 in about two weeks, questions

Will try to keep this short We're filing Chapter 7 in about two weeks, after going through a year and 1/2 of financial hell. Here's our background:

My husband lost his high paying job in September, 2009. After an entire year of searching for a new job, he finally was offered a position which paid less than half of his previous salaries. I work as an independent contractor, and make about $36,000 in straight commission per year before taxes and expenses, with no set payment schedule (which leaves us with... not much). I have no 401K and nothing in savings.

While my husband was laid off, we completely tapped his 401k just to stay on top of the bills and the mortgage, there is nothing left. We managed to pay all bills/mortgage until July of 2010, at which time we saw no way to keep up, and missed our first mortgage payment (continued to pay the credit card bills and all others). In Sept 2010 we received a forebearance from the mortgage company to pay just $500 a month until January, 2011. We just made it.

We met with an excellent bankruptcy attorney in December, 2010 after realizing there was no way we could get out from under this debt, and no way we could continue to pay the mortgage. Mortgage is in husbands name only, deed too. We knew we were headed toward foreclosure. It was decided that my husband would file Chapter 7, to hopefully discharge his CC debts.

We continued to pay my cc bills and one personal loan payment, had not missed one payment, with the thought that we would keep my credit spotless, it was a struggle but we somehow managed.