Anyone renting an apartment?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Anyone renting an apartment?

We were just discharged 2 weeks ago and that's great.

Our next big hurdle is what to do with the house. We didn't reaffirm and we plan on paying and staying for about 2 years. We're just about at the break even point right now, so we may have a little equity by then.

Whether we stay or walk away, we'd like to move somewhere south, probably florida, and try to rent an apartment. We won't necessarily need a house.

Anyone know if we'll be able to rent from any of the major apartment complexes by then or will we still have to look at private owners?

Thanks.
    Stopped charging 6-1-10 - Filed 1-25-11 - 341 2-24-11 - Discharged 4-26-11 - Closed 4-29-11
    Any opinion I give is strictly that! I am not a lawyer.

I am moving in the next month and a half after having just received a foreclosure notice (which took the bank over a year to put together and serve me). It has been over a year since I filed and almost a year since the discharge. My case was closed last July. I found an apartment the next day and signed the lease paperwork yesterday. The apartment is in a house that is divided into two apartments and the owner does not live in either one.

Some places will have a policy on a set amount of time passing after a BK some won't. You aren't going to know until you ask. It is also going to depend on your credit rating. Mine, while not good, was high enough that I had no problem getting the apartment.