Need support & encouragement!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Need support & encouragement!

I am getting ready to "make the call" I keep seeing an ad in our local free paper for a law office that specializes in bankruptcies. I have known this might be coming. I just obtained a full-time job, but have gone many summers without a job due to the fact that I work in education and have had to work as a substitute for many years because it is very difficult to get a full-time teaching job in my area. I thought my new job would help turn things around, but I am afraid it is not enough and our financial situation just keeps getting worse. Any advice for "newbies" like me would be appreciated. First question is, if I cannot pay all of my bills, how do I pay an attorney?
    I am scared.

Well, first off, if your paying credit card bills, stop. Save that money for an attorney. Second, if your paying a mortgage, stop. Save that money for an attorney. If you want to keep your house you still can down the road. And there are a lot of attorneys that have payment plans. Don't go with the first one. Talk to several before committing. Good luck to you.
    Stopped paying creditors - August 2010....Filed chapter 7 - July 29, 2011....341 - September 2, 2011....DISCHARGED AND CLOSED - November 2, 2011

Comment

First, welcome to this forum. One of the first things I can say is read, read and read some more on this board, it's a wealth of knowledge by some great people. Ask questions and read the sticky posts, it will help you understand BK much better than just seeing an attorney.