Tools of the trade question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tools of the trade question

I have a question about exempting tools of trade for federal. I am not currently working in my profession but I am looking and I do volunteer in it. I graduated Dec of last year but have had no luck finding a suitable position. I will admit that for the first few months I didn't look. I was just happy being school free and enjoying the extra time with my kiddos. Anyway,

Can I deduct trade tools such as the psychology books that I will need in my profession and currently use for my volunteer work, even though I currently do not make money from it "yet"?

What If I have 2 trades? I freelance as a writer, and have office equipment although it's not worth that much.

Originally posted by TomTea31 View Post
    I have a question about exempting tools of trade for federal. I am not currently working in my profession but I am looking and I do volunteer in it. I graduated Dec of last year but have had no luck finding a suitable position. I will admit that for the first few months I didn't look. I was just happy being school free and enjoying the extra time with my kiddos. Anyway,

Can I deduct trade tools such as the psychology books that I will need in my profession and currently use for my volunteer work, even though I currently do not make money from it "yet"?

What If I have 2 trades? I freelance as a writer, and have office equipment although it's not worth that much.
    Are you asking about tools of the trade exemption for assets?
    or
    Are you trying to claim an expense for the means test?

Those are two different issues. The trustee will not likely want your books, but if you are close to a chapter 13 might object to expenses for a job you don't have yet.

Comment