Just filed/my story (long)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Just filed/my story (long)

Actually 'just filed' is misleading, as we actually file a week from tomorrow, but my paperwork is 100% done, I took the counseling class, my fees are paid, etc. Essentially, at this point, it's all over but the waiting.

Anyway, my story starts when I was a college student. I attended college on a four-year ROTC full tuition scholarship which also paid a monthly stipend. My first experience with credit was obtaining an Amex Student card to replace my POS laptop sometime during my sophomore year. Paid it off, no problems, etc. Eventually though, I started to be more and more irresponsible with the card and buying things I didn't really need.

Things got worse a year or two later when I decided I needed to upgrade my TV as I moved into my first one bedroom apartment by myself. I eventually got myself into a nice little chunk of debt, but nothing that my eventual lieutenant's salary wouldn't take care of - or so I thought.

Eventually I got hurt during physical training for ROTC, had two surgeries on my hand, and was laid up for almost 7 months. I was on doctor's orders not to run or do strenuous exercise while recovering, and ended up getting very out of shape during the recovery period. Several months after the second surgery, the army decided they had had enough of waiting for me to get back into good enough shape and disenrolled me from the program - meaning I lost my scholarship and my monthly stipend. They are also mandating that I pay back every cent they gave me for tuition and books for 3.5 years of out of state tuition.

To make things worse, my parents went through a messy divorce during this time, which had already put me into an emotional tailspin.