public assistance

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

public assistance

i receive public assistance food stamps and medicaid and i work full time to try to support my family of 5. has anyone had any experience with chapter 7 and receiving public assistance? i am in 22,000 in credit card debt and cant afford a lawyer.

FNCBJ

What is it that you'd like to know? Receiving government assistance is barely enough to get by so you will qualify for a Ch 7. Since you receive PA, this type of income is exempt when you have to fill out some of your forms. Is there a need or rush to file bk now? It would seem that you are "judgement proof". If you are receiving certain benefits, i.e. welfare or social security, a creditor can't take your money if it comes from such sources. I am not an expert, but you can try your local Legal Aid for some help based on your income. In NY where I am from, the bk court had flyers from a legal aid office that provides free help to people whose income is at the 200% poverty level.

I filed pro-se because I didn't have the money for an atty either. My case is a no asset and I studied books, websites and visited forums about 5 months before filing.

sbb

Originally posted by fncbj
    i receive public assistance food stamps and medicaid and i work full time to try to support my family of 5. has anyone had any experience with chapter 7 and receiving public assistance? i am in 22,000 in credit card debt and cant afford a lawyer.
    Hooters MC: $1700
    First Premier Platinum MC: $450
    Orchard Bank MC: $300 Juniper Visa :$600
    Target Card: $200 Capital One:$1500

Comment

i am also in n.y i do not receive any ssi or welfare cash. where can i find free legal help?

Comment

i am also in n.y i do not receive any ssi or welfare cash. where can i find free legal help?
        Not sure what part of NY you are in. Try these:

*** THIS IS NOT LEGAL ADVICE--ONLY A LAWYER CAN PROVIDE THAT. ***