Plan to settle charge-off accounts instead of CH7

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Plan to settle charge-off accounts instead of CH7

The background...I have been like a vulture circling this CH 7 carcass for years. Things hit critical and I quit paying on all debts except student loans and vehicle payments in November. I do not own a home and I make less than median income with a family of 5. I was going to file for CH7 around February. The catch is, I work in the CPA field. To further complicate it, my job is considered a position of public trust that is subject to CRAZY background checks not unlike security clearances. I am required to disclose everything ranging from an affair to financial problems. I made the financial disclosure as required. Basically, I can lose my job if I file for CH7. You can say all you like about how that isn't legal, but in my world...it is since maintaining the "security clearance" is a job requirement. The investigators told me my options are CH13 or settlements since it shows an intent to "try to repay", but CH7 would be frowned upon to the degree where I would risk termination. I'm considered as on probation while my credit cards are delinquent.
    So this really sucks.