top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

PLEASE HELP!! Need advice! Am I being sued?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

PLEASE HELP!! Need advice! Am I being sued?

My husband and I can't file chapter 7 bk until July 1st because we have lost one of our incomes and we are waiting for it to fall off before we file so that we will be under the median income.

We are moving next month because our home is going to go into foreclosure. My husband is our only income source right now and I am scared about making it until July 1st w/o having our bank account raided, etc. We are saving up to for a rental deposit, 1st/last month rent that we will be moving into end of February. We stopped paying our c.c. debt in October because I work in sales and had very little in commissions. In December, I got one last large commission payment, hence waiting until July 1st to file.

Anyway, yesterday I got the mail and I had this letter in my mailbox. I did not have to sign for it, so I am very confused if it is stating we are going to be sued? It is from a law firm and states:

This office has been retained to collect the above-referenced claim against you.
    Unless within thirty days after receipt of this notice, you dispute the validity of the debt of any portion thereof, we will assume the debt to be valid.
    If within thirty days of your receipt of this notice, you notify us in writing that the debt or any portion thereof is disputed, we will obtain a verification of the debt or, if the debt is founded upon a judgment, a copy of the judgment, and we will mail to you a copy of such verification or judgment.
    You are put on notice that we are attempting to collect a debt and any further information obtained will be used for that purpose.
    Please direct full payment to our office. Very truly yours, Collection Department of Law Firm