AMEX just called me . . . . . .. with an offer

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

AMEX just called me . . . . . .. with an offer

I previously posted on another thread about AMEX calling my former employer (where many of my friends still work) and humiliating me. I was wisely advised to start answering the collection calls (which I finally had the courage to do).

Honestly, I am not good at handling the creditors. I simply told AMEX that I lost a lot of my monthly income in November/December and that I have zero money to pay creditors after I pay rent, food, gas, etc.

AMEX asked me to take money out of my 401k. I (lied) told them that I didn't know you could do that and would look into it but cannot make any promises on anything. Is that a good answer?

In reality, I only have a few thousand in my 401k and that wouldn't make a dent in my debts, even if I could withdraw the whole amount. Maybe I should have just told them that.

Give them no info.

Are you filing for BK? I answered all calls just so they did not call anyone else.

Just tell them you are filing BK. If they ask the lawyer's name, just say, I will call you when I have that info and hang up. Every time a collector calls, tell them the same exact thing and hang up. They are only doing their job, don't let them get to you. Most of them hate calling you as much as you hate answering the phone. They just need the job like everyone else.

Comment

Just curious what kind of offer did they make you? I'm probably getting all kinds of offers but I just dont answer there calls. No reason too. Personally I wouldnt bother telling them you'll look into it, they will keep buggin you on that issue. Just tell them you dont have one. Its none of there bees wax if you have money in an IRA period!!!

Comment

AMEX offered me something like 9.99% interest, basically $300 per month. I was only half listening because I knew that I am filing BK and will not take any offers.